The Health Foundation and TD Bank Financial Group Award $19,946 in scholarships and education grants

TD Bank Financial Group and The Health Foundation announced the recipients of the Fall Education Awards for 2015 on January 7, 2016. Applications are considered twice each year and awards are given each spring and fall. There were 16 successful applicants this fall and a total of $19,946.34 awarded. 

Annually, The Health Foundation’s Scholarship Fund awards at least $24,000 a year to help further the training and education of healthcare staff in east central Saskatchewan. The TD Bank Financial Group contributes $12,000 annually to fund 50% of the awards. 

For 15 consecutive years TD has partnered with The Health Foundation, making a very significant investment in local healthcare through this education program. This brings the total of TD Bank Financial Groups investment in this education program to $162,000. 

“TD Bank Financial Group is committed to investing in the future of this region by helping to ensure that nurses and other caregivers have access to funds to upgrade their skills and further their education,” said Les Arnelien, Branch Manager with TD Canada Trust. “We are pleased that TD Bank Financial Group is presenting awards to five students taking their Bachelor of Science in Nursing. These awards will help the individuals pursue their education aspirations and improve their clinical skills and the knowledge they bring to their job working with patients.” 

This education program has had great success since it started,” said Mr. Arnelien. “We have helped nurses and therapists improve their education and clinical skills. This program has helped improve the quality of healthcare available in our local medical facilities.”

The recipients of TD Bank Financial Group’s scholarship awards each receive $1,500 and are in their second year of Bachelor of Science in Nursing: 

  • Shannon Dudley of Yorkton
  • Paige Fogg of InverMay
  • Mackenzie Moore of Stockholm 
  • Chrissy Pelechaty of Pelly, who is in her third year
  • Shelly Watkins of Foam Lake

The recipients of The Health Foundation’s scholarship awards are: 

  • Laurie Aukland of Grayson
  • Danielle Bellamy of Yorkton
  • Loretta Erhardt of Togo
  • Pat Kuspira of Yorkton
  • Phyllis Olynyk of Canora

Attending conferences to take the RespTrec Program for pharmacists are: 

  • Colleen Gibney of Yorkton
  • Cherise Mosiondz of Yorkton

There are two awards for workshops that will be held in 2016:

  • Dr. Lisa de Gooijer, will coordinate a Perinatal Education program to improve the health regions ability to work with babies needing to be transferred to other hospitals; 
  • Pat Kuspira and Fred Hilton, of Kamsack, will take the second step of the Crucial Accountability Program so they can deliver the course here in Sunrise.

In addition an award has been made to Kerry O’Donnell of Calder. Ms O’Donnell is nurse who will be completing the Respiratory Training and Education program which will enable her to provide training and improve the clinical ability of Sunrise Staff. 

Under the Educational Resource Material program an award was made to purchase the Building Competency in Diabetes Education program. Jillian Wlock accepted the award.  

Since TD Bank Financial Group and The Health Foundation started this program in 2002, there have been 342 awards totaling $317,304. The Health Foundation normally grants up to $24,000 in educational awards, but if some awards are unused those funds are carried forward and made available in the next round of applications. 

From the left: Diane Rusnak (Foundation Chair), Les Arnelien (TD Bank),Laurie Auckland, Phyllis Olynyk, Paige Fogg, Shannon Dudley, Fred Hilton, Danielle Bellamy, Pat Kuspira, Loretta Erhardt and Ross Fisher. 

2015 Education Award Recipients

Call 306-786-0506
Toll free 1-800-636-3243