Call 306-786-0506
Toll free 1-800-636-3243

2016 Education Award Recipients

The Health Foundation and TD Bank Financial Group Award $16,637 in scholarships and education grants

​TD Bank Financial Group and The Health Foundation announced the recipients of the Spring Education Awards for 2016. Applications are considered twice each year and awards are given each spring and fall. There were 19 successful applicants this spring and a total of $16,637 awarded. 

Annually, The Health Foundation’s Scholarship Fund awards at least $24,000 a year to help further the training and education of healthcare staff in east central Saskatchewan. The TD Bank Financial Group contributes $12,000 annually to fund 50% of the awards. 

This is the 16th consecutive year TD has partnered with The Health Foundation, making a very significant investment in local healthcare through this education program. This brings the total of TD Bank Financial Groups investment in this education program to $168,000. 

“TD Bank Financial Group is committed to investing in the future of this region by helping to ensure that nurses and other caregivers have access to funds to upgrade their skills and further their education,” said Les Arnelien, Branch Manager with TD Canada Trust. “We are pleased that TD Bank Financial Group is presenting awards to three students taking their Bachelor of Science in Nursing and one nurse who is taking her Masters of Nursing with a goal of becoming a Nurse Practitioner. These awards will help the individuals pursue their education aspirations and improve their clinical skills and the knowledge they bring to their job working with patients.” 

The recipients of TD Bank Financial Group’s scholarship awards are: 

  • Jocelyn Robinson, of Esterhazy
  • Tera Walsh, of Bredenbury
  • Dan Wlock, of Yorkton
  • Tania Meadows, of Yorkton

The recipients of The Health Foundation’s scholarship awards are: 

  • Cosmin Coltea, of Yorkton
  • Loretta Erhardt, of Togo
  • Sheri Ferris, of Ebenezer
  • Candice Nelson, of Norquay
  • Justin Ruf, of Canora
  • Suzel Spykerman, of Yorkton
  • Sandra Sutter, of Springside
  • Sylvia Airey, of Yorkton
  • Brittany Dempsey, of Foam Lake
  • Megan Husak, of Yorkton
  • Shallaine Kelly, of Canora
  • Dawn Kennedy, of Preeceville
  • Sheri MacGillivray, of Kamsack

There is an award for a workshop that will be held in 2016:

  • Sharon Clark will coordinate an Infection Prevention & Control workshop which is designed to improve infection control practices in healthcare facilities. 

In addition an award has been made to Jacqueline Gotengco, with the Cornerstone Therapies Stroke program for the purchase of a SaeboGlove which will aid therapists in assisting stroke patients with their recovery and therapy. 

Since TD Bank Financial Group and The Health Foundation started this program in 2002, there have been 358 awards totaling $333,941. The Health Foundation normally grants up to $24,000 in educational awards, but if some awards are unused those funds are carried forward and made available in the next round of applications. 

From the left: Ross Fisher, Les Arnelien of TD Bank Financial Group, Health Foundation Chair Diane Rusnak, Sharon Clark, Cosmin Coltea, Justin Ruf, Sylvia Airey, Jacqueline Gotengco, Loretta Erhardt, Trent Szabo of Sunrise Health Region and Tera Walsh.